A reader writes, "I'm interested in joining a local Wiccan group, and I know that at least several of the people in the group are Vegan. I'd feel funny asking them about this, because I'm not vegetarian at all, but are there dietary laws within the structure of Wicca?"
Although each coven and tradition is responsible for setting up their own rules and mandates, there's not any across-the-board dietary restrictions, no. We don't have a Pagan equivalent of the Kosher diet. That having been said, some Wiccans believe that eating meat violates the concept of "harm none," as outlined in the Wiccan Rede, so they choose for that reason to become vegan or vegetarian. On the other hand, there are plenty of Pagans who do eat meat and even kill their own food, so it really just depends on the group you're looking at. It may well be just coincidence that the members of the group you've met are all vegan.
However, many people find that their diet does affect the way they practice. For me personally, on days in which I have a ritual planned, I typically eat a very light breakfast and lunch, consisting of veggies and fruit, and then I usually don't eat dinner until after the ceremony. I find that a not-full-of-meat-and-carbs stomach makes me more aware of my environment, and allows me to better work with the energy around me. There are also many people who do a detox cleanse or fasting prior to ritual, or during certain times of the year, or related to the moon phases. So, while the short answer is that no, there are no dietary mandates in Wicca, there's the long answer, which is that it may not be a bad idea to rethink your diet for the purpose of entering into a ritual setting.
For an idea of what some of our readers have to say about this matter, be sure to read the reader comments at Wicca and Dietary Restrictions.